Intern Appreciation Week 2023

This year Fori added some new faces to our intern roster and welcomed back a Fori internship pro.

Read on for our Q&A’s with Ruess Rolloff discussing his first year interning with Fori and Nick McHugh who talks about his internship at Fori this time around.

Q: First things first, can you tell us your name, and which department you are interning in?

My name is Ruess Rolloff, and I am interning in the mechanical [engineering] department.

Q: What school are you attending and what is your major?

I currently attend the University of Michigan and I major in mechanical engineering.

Q: How did you come across the internship here at Fori?

I met someone at school who knew someone that works at Fori, and they set me up with an interview.

Q: What types of projects are you working on so far?

So far, I have been assisting with finishing up designs for an RGC and an AGV. In addition, I have been designing guarding for a portion of an assembly line in a factory. I also had the fun task of designing and 3D printing a business card holder modeled after an AGV.

Q: If you could do the internship again what would you change? Is there something you wanted to learn more about?  

There is plenty that I would change, but that is just a part of the learning experience. I was unfamiliar with many of the processes early on which led to some simple mistakes in my work that I have since learned to fix. Although I ask plenty of questions, if I were to do it again, I would ask more questions about everything I was unsure about because it could have saved me time by going back and correcting my mistakes.

Q: Have you received training and support during your internship?

I have received plenty of support during my internship, but I do feel as though I received less than adequate training going into the internship. I was expecting a learning curve as is the case with any new job, but it was somewhat of a trial by fire the first few weeks.

Q: Does the workload match your expectations of the internship?

The workload does feel slightly heavier than average at times, but for the most part, is very manageable. The workload feeling heavier than average could potentially be attributed to not being familiar with procedures and falling behind while learning all the systems and processes.

Q: How would you describe the company culture here at Fori?

From what I have seen, I would describe the culture as friendly and relaxed. Everyone in the mechanical department seems to get along well and there are often jokes being cracked. Everyone is also quick to offer help if needed which is very appreciated.

Q: Why do you think internships are beneficial for students?

Internships are very beneficial to students because they give students actual relevant experience in their respective fields of study which goes far beyond what is learned in classes. They are also beneficial because they can help a student hone in on what field they would like to specialize in after graduation.

Q: What’s next for you, any exciting plans for the upcoming school year?

This upcoming school year is my senior year, so I plan on focusing on completing my final credits and soaking up as much information as can. I also plan on enjoying a great football season and spending lots of time with my friends before we graduate and go our separate ways.

Thanks, Ruess! We wish you continued success in the upcoming school year and wherever your career takes you.

Now let’s check in with Nick McHugh who returned to Fori after completing an internship in 2022.

Q: Just to go over the basics again, what is your name, and what department are you interning in?

Nicholas McHugh, Controls Engineering Department

Q: What school are you attending and what is your major?

Michigan Technological University, Electrical Engineering

Q: What types of projects are you working on so far?

Automated Guided Vehicle Commissioning/Debugging for The Ford Box, Cab, and Chassis 123 AGVs.

I went to Ford RCP: Started updating AGVs (Automated Guided Vehicles) for the expansion, working with Pari at the plant, and cleaning up incorrect markings on the ground for RFID pucks.

Q: Have you received training and support during your internship?

Yes, any questions I have get answered. Sometimes I just have to find the right person or come to a different solution because software likes to break.

Q: Does the workload match your expectations of the internship?

Yep, the workload does match my expectations.

Q: How has this experience been, compared to your previous experience interning at Fori?

So far this year’s experience has been better than last year’s. The workload is comparable to last year for me. It was better because I know a lot of the people coming back and I got to go to Ford’s Rawsonville Plant. Going to the plant was cool because I got to see how the AGV’s are used in production. Other than that, it’s essentially the same.

Q: Why do you think internships are beneficial for students?

Internships are beneficial because they provide an opportunity for students to gain experience in the field, create connections, and have a chance to learn if a certain career is something they want to do in the future.

Q: Why did you choose to come back and intern at Fori for a second year?

I came back to Fori for a second year because I enjoyed working on the AGVs and I feel like I have an amazing group of co-workers that are supportive and helpful.

Nick, we appreciate you taking the time to talk about your experience at Fori for the second year. Hopefully, we will see you again!

If you are interested in internships at Fori Automation, A Lincoln Electric Company contact our HR team at employement@foriauto.com. We are always happy to mentor and host aspiring talent.

Leave a comment